terrains-a-vendre-au-costa-rica.jpg

LOOKING BUYING LAND IN COSTA RICA?

Are you looking to buy land in Costa Rica ? Are you looking to build a dream home? Check out our listings for land sales in Tamarindo, Flamingo, Brasilito, Potrero, Avellanas, Manuel Antonio and throughout Costa Rica.

 

FIND THE LAND IN COSTA RICA AND BUILD YOUR DREAM HOME

Building your house: how to choose your land?

Study the environment of the plot

A very important step that should not be taken lightly is the search for building land. To find your land, you can go through online advertising sites, such as ENCUENTRA 24 . Obviously, you will find a property corresponding to your geographical criteria whether you are looking for land for sale in Flamingo, Tamarindo, Samara, Jaco or even in San José (or any other department). For your research, you can also use a real estate agency, a law firm or go directly through the manufacturer's network.

Whatever your research method, the immediate natural environment of the land must be taken into account. First of all, since it precisely indicates the nature of the soil. In this regard, also remember to observe the houses built nearby. Cracks in the walls can reveal settlements linked to clayey soils. In addition, the orientation of the houses located nearby indicates the direction of the wind and the layout of the living rooms. However, exposure to the elements (sun, wind, rain, etc.) plays a major role in the well-being of residents and in the energy consumption of future housing.

Good to know !

The vegetation present near the land is ideal for regulating the temperature of the house.

 

Know the viability of the land for sale

Good to know !

Before buying land , be sure to check that it is constructible. To do this, ask the town hall or your agent for the local urban plan. ABI Costa Rica Real Estate exclusively presents building land for sale .

For example, each country has its own town planning standards. In fact, they sometimes have certain restrictions (the maritime zone, protected zone, etc.). All of these standards, at risk, can have a direct impact on your construction project (or even ban it).

At the same time, find out about the public utility town planning easements that limit land use (National Natural Park, risk of flooding or earthquakes, etc.). As well as, take into account the neighboring easements (right of way, distance and authorized construction height, etc.). In other words, know the maximum restrictions before buying land in Costa Rica .

Note that in Costa Rica, most municipalities do not prohibit certain types of construction (color and style of houses) as in some countries.

 

Consequence of the land on your choice of house

Before making the final plan for your future home, it is essential to have purchased your land. Indeed, a house plan is directly impacted by the land on which the construction will be carried out: the planning rules, the size of the land and its orientation will significantly influence the location and shape of the future house. Thus, even if it is possible to have a preference for a particular style of house (stone house, architect's house ...), it is the specificities of the land that will finalize your choice. Indeed, a narrow plot will more easily accommodate a two-storey house with a square or rectangular plan, while a plot with a large surface area will allow the construction of a large single-storey house with an L or U plan.

The larger and flatter the land, the greater the builder's “architectural freedom”. Moreover, whatever the land or the style of house chosen, it is advisable to place the living rooms to the south, in order to optimize the sunshine and save energy. Conversely, the less used rooms or which do not need to be regularly heated (garage, laundry room, cellar, saddlery, etc.) can be placed to the north of the house.

Good to know !

Contact a good architect to pull all the strings of your future land. If you are looking for one, we can recommend architectural firms in San José and Guanacaste.

 

Check the title of the land

Good to know !

Make sure you know the title of your land in the public register by yourself or by a specialist lawyer.

Before buying land in Costa Rica , find a real estate lawyer to do a thorough title check. Most properties in Costa Rica are registered in a centralized system in the public registry and have a “Real Folio”.

 

In fact, all the titled properties must have some kind of number in order to obtain a proper title. It consists of three parts. The first number indicates the province where the property is located. Then the second group consists of six digits indicating the number of the property itself. And the last number indicates the number of co-owners with those that the property has. Check whether the property is a concession or it is in the maritime zone. The more you know in advance, the better it will be for you.

 

Hire a surveyor and check with the national register

Hire an official surveyor to measure properties and verify size and boundaries. It is better not to choose the same surveyor that the salesperson uses, as they could work together. Large properties can often be subject to differences in size or dividing lines. It suffices that the land has not been investigated for some time. Neighbors can move their fences too. Costa Rica has a cadastral office which has all the title deeds, this official plan of survey or “cadastral plan” must be registered in the national register to acquire, transfer or mortgage a property.

Good to know !

Check the size and boundaries of the land with your own official surveyor.

 

Corporate and property tax

Good to know !

Make sure that the taxes and fees are up to date on the land for sale.

It is your responsibility to pay municipal taxes equal to approximately 2.5% of the registered value once a year. Sometimes these property taxes are paid quarterly. You will not be notified of this financial obligation and could incur penalties or worse by not paying them. If the property is registered under a Costa Rican company or a limited company. You are then also responsible for paying the annual fees of that company.

 

Good to know !

Documents that must for the purchase of land in Costa Rica:

  • A copy of the deed

  • Cadastral map

  • A certified title search

  • A copy of the study card

  • INVU alignment certification

  • Proof that taxes are up to date and that the title is clear

Information to know before buying land in Costa Rica

  • What is the property number on the Folio Real?

  • How much are the annual property taxes?

  • What are the zoning (land use) regulations?

  • Any concessions, annotations or privileges on the property?

  • Are there any easements?

  • Is there anyone occupying the land now?

  • Is the property fenced and with proper borders?

  • Are there any setbacks due to rivers or streams on the ground?

  • Is the seller the rightful owner?

  • Are there any ongoing legal disputes?

  • Can the property be acquired through the trust?

  • Can you prevent others from mortgaging or transferring your property with a “mortgage bond”?

  • Are basic services available in the property in question (water, electricity)?

 

The institutions to contact in case of land purchase.

The first thing to do before buying land is to research what it can be used for and if there are any outstanding financial obligations and you can do this yourself or through a professional. If you are a foreigner or don't want to waste time with your papers, you can contact an official architect or real estate lawyer. You should contact the following institutions:

  • Ministry of Agriculture and Livestock (MAG)

  • National Institute of Housing and Town Planning (INVU)

  • Ministry of Health

  • Ministry of the Environment, Energy and Telecommunications

  • Ministry of Housing and Human Settlements (MIVAH)

  • Costa Rican Institute of Aqueducts and Sewers (AyA)

  • Ministry of Public Works and Transport (MOPT)

  • Agrarian Development Institute (IDA)

  • The municipality in which the property is located

$

terrains-a-vendre-au-costa-rica.jpg

ENVIE ACHETER UN TERRAIN AU COSTA RICA ?

Vous êtes à la recherche pour acquérir un lot au Costa Rica ? Comment savoir si vous investissez dans la propriété de vos rêves sans connaître le pays ? Découvrez notre guide et astuces pour savoir tout sur la vente des terrains et leur acquisition !

 

CONSEILS POUR ACHETER UN TERRAIN AU COSTA RICA

Comment acheter un terrain au Costa Rica ? Afin de commencer un projet de construction de maison, il faut trouver un terrain idéal. Environnement, superficie, règles d’urbanisme… les éléments à prendre en compte pour faire le bon choix :

Bien étudier l'environnement de la parcelle

Une étape très importante qu’il ne faut pas prendre à la légère, c'est la recherche d’un terrain constructible. Pour trouver votre terrain, vous pouvez notamment passer par les sites d’annonces en ligne, comme ENCUENTRA 24. Forcément, vous trouverez un bien correspondant à vos critères géographiques que vous recherchiez un terrain à vendre à Flamingo, Tamarindo, Samara, Jaco ou encore dans le San José (ou tout autre département). Pour votre recherche, vous pouvez également faire appel à une agence immobilière, un cabinet d'avocat ou bien passer directement par le réseau du constructeur.

Quelle que soit votre méthode de recherche, l'environnement naturel immédiat du terrain devra être pris en compte. Tout d'abord, puisqu’il indique précisément la nature du sol. À ce sujet, pensez également à observer les habitations construites à proximité. Les fissures sur les murs peuvent révéler des tassements liés à des terrains argileux. En outre, l’orientation des maisons situées à proximité indique le sens du vent et la disposition des pièces à vivre. Or, l’exposition aux éléments (soleil, vent, pluie…) joue un rôle majeur dans le bien-être des habitants et dans la consommation énergétique du futur logement.

Bon à Savoir !

La végétation présente à proximité du terrain est idéale pour réguler la température de la maison. 

 

Connaitre la viabilité du terrain à vendre

Bon à Savoir !

Avant d’acheter un terrain, assurez-vous de vérifier que celui-ci est bien constructible. Pour cela, demandez à la mairie "Uso del Suelo" (utilisation del sol). 

Par exemple, chaque pays a ses propres normes d'urbanisme. Justement, ils comportent parfois certaines restrictions (la zone maritime, zone protégée, etc.). Toutes ces normes, au risque peuvent avoir un impact direct sur votre projet de construction (voire l'interdire). 

Dans le même temps, renseignez-vous sur les servitudes d’urbanisme d’utilité publique qui limitent l’occupation du sol (Parc Naturel National, risques d’inondations ou de séismes…). Ainsi que, prenez en compte les servitudes de voisinage (droit de passage, de distance et de la hauteur de construction autorisée, etc.). Autrement dit, connaître le maximum des restrictions avant d'acheter un terrain au Costa Rica

Notons qu'au Costa Rica, la plupart des communes n'interdisent pas certains types de constructions (couleur et style des maisons) comme dans certains pays.

 

Conséquence du terrain sur votre choix de maison

Avant de faire le plan final de votre future maison, il est primordial d'avoir trouvé votre terrain. En effet, un plan de maison et sa forme est directement impacté par le terrain sur lequel la construction sera réalisée. Ainsi, même s’il est possible d’avoir une préférence pour un style de maison en particulier, ce sont bien les particularités du terrain qui influenceront votre choix. En effet, un lot étroit accueillera plus facilement une maison à étage de forme carré ou rectangulaire. Tandis qu'un lot doté d’une belle superficie, permettra de construire une grande maison de plain-pied avec un plan en L ou en U.

Plus le terrain sera grand et plat, plus la « liberté architecturale » du constructeur sera grande et moins chère sera votre prix de construction. 

Bon à Savoir !

Contactez un bon architecte pour tirer toutes les ficelles de votre futur terrain. Si vous en cherchez un, nous pouvons vous recommandez des cabinets d'architectes sur San José et au Guanacaste.

 

Vérifier le titre du terrain 

Bon à Savoir !

Assurez-vous de savoir le titre de votre terrain dans le registre public par vous-même ou par un avocat spécialisé.

Avant d'acheter un terrain au Costa Rica, trouvez un avocat spécialisé dans l'immobilier pour effectuer une vérification approfondie du titre. La plupart des propriétés au Costa Rica sont enregistrées dans un système centralisé dans le registre public et ont un «Folio Réal».

 

En faite, toutes les propriétés intitulées doivent avoir une espèce de numéro afin d'obtenir un titre propre. Il se compose de trois parties. Le premier numéro indique la province où se trouve la propriété. Ensuite, le deuxième groupe est composé de six chiffres indique le numéro de la propriété elle-même. Et le dernier numéro indique le nombre de copropriétaires avec ceux que le la propriété compte. Vérifiez bien si la propriété est une concession ou elle se trouve dans la zone maritime. Plus vous en saurez d'avance, mieux ce sera pour vous.

 

Embaucher un géomètre et vérifier auprès du registre national

Engagez un géomètre officiel pour mesurer les propriétés et vérifier la taille et les limites. Il vaut mieux ne pas choisir le même géomètre que le vendeur utilise, car ils pourraient travailler ensemble. Les grandes propriétés peuvent souvent faire sujet à des différences de taille ou de lignes de démarcation. Il suffit que le terrain n'ait pas fait l'objet d'une enquête depuis un certain temps. Les voisins aussi peuvent déplacer leurs clôtures.

 

Le Costa Rica a un bureau cadastral qui possède tous les titres de propriété, ce plan d'arpentage officiel ou «plan cadastral» doit être enregistré dans le registre national pour acquérir, transférer ou hypothéquer une propriété.

Bon à Savoir !

Vérifiez avec votre propre géomètre officiel la taille et les limites du terrain. 

 

Impôt sur les sociétés et la propriété

Bon à Savoir !

Assurez-vous que les impôts et les taxes sont bien à jour du terrain en vente.

Il est de votre responsabilité de payer des taxes municipales égales à environ 2,5% de la valeur enregistrée une fois par an. Parfois, ces impôts fonciers sont payés trimestriellement. Vous ne serez pas informé de cette obligation financière et pourriez encourir des pénalités ou pire en ne les payant pas. Si la propriété est enregistrée sous une société costaricienne ou une société anonyme. Vous êtes alors également responsable du paiement des frais annuels de cette société.

 

Bon à Savoir !

Documents qui doivent pour l'achat d'un terrain au Costa Rica :

  • Une copie de l'acte

  • Plan cadastral

  • Une recherche de titre certifiée

  • Une copie de la carte d'étude

  • Une certification d'alignement de l'INVU

  • Preuve que les taxes sont à jour et que le titre est clair

Informations à connaître avant d'acheter le terrain au Costa Rica

  • Quel est le numéro de propriété sur le Folio Real?

  • À combien s'élèvent les taxes foncières annuelles?

  •   Quels sont les règlements de zonage (utilisation des terres)?

  • Des concessions, annotations ou privilèges sur la propriété?

  • Y a-t-il des servitudes?

  • Y a-t-il quelqu'un qui occupe le terrain maintenant?

  • La propriété est-elle clôturée et avec des bordures appropriées?

  • Y a-t-il des revers dus aux rivières ou aux ruisseaux sur le terrain?

  • Le vendeur est-il le propriétaire légitime?

  • Y a-t-il des différends juridiques en cours?

  • Le bien peut-il être acquis par l'entremise de la fiducie?

  • Pouvez-vous empêcher d'autres personnes d'hypothéquer ou de transférer votre propriété avec une «obligation hypothécaire»?

  • Les services de base sont-ils disponibles dans la propriété en question (eau, électricité)?

 

Les institutions à contacter en cas d'achat du terrain.

La première chose à faire avant d'acheter un terrain est de rechercher à quoi il peut servir et s'il y a des obligations financières en suspens et vous pouvez le faire vous-même ou par l'intermédiaire d'un professionnel. Si vous êtes étranger ou que vous ne voulez pas perdre le temps avec vos papiers, vous pouvez contacter un architecte officiel ou un avocat spécialisé en immobilier. Vous devez contacter les institutions suivantes:

  • Ministère de l'Agriculture et de l'élevage (MAG)

  • Institut national du logement et de l'urbanisme (INVU)

  • Ministère de la Santé

  • Ministère de l'Environnement, de l'énergie et des télécommunications

  • Ministère du Logement et des établissements humains (MIVAH)

  • Institut costaricain des aqueducs et des égouts (AyA)

  • Ministère des travaux publics et des transports (MOPT)

  • Institut de développement agraire (IDA)

  • La commune dans laquelle se trouve la propriété

$